Reviews

The Edge of the Abyss

Author: Emily Skrutskie26219455

Publisher: Flux

Publication Date: 18. April 2017

Rating: 4./5. Stars

Diversity: LGBT Characters, PoC

Summary: Three weeks have passed since Cassandra Leung pledged her allegiance to the ruthless pirate-queen Santa Elena and set free Bao, the sea monster Reckoner she’d been forced to train. The days as a pirate trainee are long and grueling, but it’s not the physical pain that Cas dreads most. It’s being forced to work with Swift, the pirate girl who broke her heart.

But Cas has even bigger problems when she discovers that Bao is not the only monster swimming free. Other Reckoners illegally sold to pirates have escaped their captors and are taking the NeoPacific by storm, attacking ships at random and ruining the ocean ecosystem. As a Reckoner trainer, Cas might be the only one who can stop them. But how can she take up arms against creatures she used to care for and protect?

Will Cas embrace the murky morals that life as a pirate brings or perish in the dark waters of the NeoPacific?

goodreads

Order here: amazon | barnesandnoble

Disclaimer: I received an e-copy of this book on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

*-*-*

After finishing the first book, which was one of my favorite books, I immediately dove into the sequel. While it was still a very good book (pretty great tbh), it didn’t give me everything I wanted. (I have high standards because of the first book can you tell?). Anyway, the conflict between the main characters felt too dragged out for me, especially the constant switches between love and hate made it really hard for me to like their relationship like I wanted too. But in the end, the promise of equal footing was really well-played out, which was one of my favorite parts of their relationship in this book.

However the writing was a bit better than the first book, and there was also a lot of things going on. There is also a bit more world building, which was super interesting, but it still didn’t feel like quite enough. Ugh, I just love this world and I Want More!!!

There are also a lot of fascinating battles even though they sometimes felt too chaotic and it wasn’t that easy to keep up with them all the time. Despite this I absolutely adored these action-packed scenes, it was so good y’all!

We also get to know some side characters a bit better, but most of all we get to know Cas brother which was really great. Like in the first book the story was very character-driven and Cas felt even more real, which was great. I do feel really sorry for her because she has a lot of weight on her shoulders in this book as well as a lot of new responsibilities and while you can see that this is hard on her, she manages so well and I Love Her. Another thing that was fascinating were some reveals about Swift and I can promise you that they are big! (Really big. I gasped when I read them. Ugh, so good!). Also, Santa Elena plays a reaaaaally important role in this book and she is amazing. Honestly, she’s terrible but amazing and even though I still love Cas and Swift more (cause they are great duh), Santa Elena definitely ended up on my Top Ten List of Love-Hate Characters.

The ending feels like a set up for a new interesting story and while I know this is a finished Duology I definitely wouldn’t be opposed to more stories set in this universe! It was amazing!

All in all, this was a very worthy ending, picking up right where the first book left off and if you liked the first book I think you will like this one too. Also if you like lesbian pirates and betrayal and heartbreak and great action and many other good things that I already mentioned in my first review.

Leave a Reply

