Reviews

Peter Darling

Author: Austin Chant33358438

Publisher: Less Than Three Press

Publication Date: 15. February 2017

Rating: 4/5. Stars

Diversity: LGBT Characters

TW: misgendering, suicidal thoughts

Summary: Ten years ago, Peter Pan left Neverland to grow up, leaving behind his adolescent dreams of boyhood and resigning himself to life as Wendy Darling. Growing up, however, has only made him realize how inescapable his identity as a man is.

But when he returns to Neverland, everything has changed: the Lost Boys have become men, and the war games they once played are now real and deadly. Even more shocking is the attraction Peter never knew he could feel for his old rival, Captain Hook—and the realization that he no longer knows which of them is the real villain.

Goodreads

Order here: LessThanThreePress

Disclaimer: I received an e-copy of this book on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

*-*-*

I first heard this book recommended as a trans Peter Pan retelling and I was immediately interested. And thankfully this book did not disappoint. (Plus I was also interested in picking this book up because the cover is gorgeous)

What intrigued me as well is the fact that the book is #ownvoices, which is always a huge bonus when I pick up a book.

There are some scenes of misgendering and threats of being locked up in the asylum, as well as suicidal thoughts as result of them in the beginning.

The idea to have a trans Peter who used to be called Wendy is super interesting and I loved how Peter was the one of his brothers who remembered the Neverlands for the longest. I also loved that everybody was a bit more grown up (well, except Peter in the beginning) because while the constant quarrels of the original Peter Pan can be amusing, I definitely wouldn’t have enjoyed a romance between two character’s who just want to kill each other all the time (there’s a lot of fighting still, but it’s… different? kind off?)

Generally, the romance surprised me. I was really worried how a PeterxHook story would play out and I was worried that the romance would be creepy, but it’s not! It’s not at all, it’s wonderful and so much character growth (I mean they are all grown up too so that’s a bonus!) and I loved it so much. It’s enemies to lovers, which is very often not a trope I enjoy because many either feel forced or like a romanticized abusive relationship, which is not the case here at all. While there is quite some sexual tension even while they are still officially enemies, they have grown closer before that happens and when their relationship has grown to a certain point they truly care for each other and have gotten over their rivalry.

Also, I adored how Peter never “officially” came out to Hook, a decision the author explained here. It surprised me at first, but I still really loved it and it fit really well with the story.

I’m generally not a big fan of dual POV, as it very often does not work, but here we only got it after The Twist and it fit really well. It definitely gave me a bigger insight into Hook’s story and it was great.

Then I loved, loved, loved the mythology of Neverland’s magic. There’s a really fascinating twist to the story that I hadn’t expected at all, but it works so well!!

The story is also paced really well and despite it being really short it mostly worked out well. I can’t wait for the sequel!

All in all, I think this is one of the most lovely romances I’ve read in a while and I really enjoyed it.

One thought on “Peter Darling

Leave a Reply

