Reviews

Waking Up

Author: Kasey Roper70290485-368-k767383

Publisher: Self Published

Publication Date: 24 May 2016

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars

Diversity: LGBT Characters, People of Color

TW: short mention of rape (like really short, but still), character death

Summary: Two days ago, Erin Thompson was a self-imposed, bedridden millennial, faking her way trough finding a job. She has her head in the clouds and headphones in her ears, refusing to be the product of an inner city. Now, Erin has no heartbeat, a hole in her memory, and a house full of werewolves telling her that she’s on her way to becoming a vampire. A genuine, blood thirsty vampire, who has caught the attention of the United States military. So with a division of Special Forces on her back, who are dedicated to capturing and killing supernatural creatures, Erin must decide how she wants to spend her life after life. Should she fight? Should she run? Or should she accept her death as it was mean to be?

Author’s tumblr: kchante

Order here: Amazon | createspace

Disclaimer: I won this book in a tumblr giveaway, but this has in no way influenced my review

*-*-*

Erin lives in Henry, a small town in America. She has been bitten by a vampire, but thanks to a friendly group of werewolves she is not alone while she finishes her transformation. With a secret government Agency trying to hunt her down she has to learn and adapt quickly to her changed life, which is not always easy (vampire motorics take their time to learn!) It all get’s even more dangerous when her mother and sister are abducted by said secret government Agency. Erin now has to figure out a way to free them.

In my opinion Erin acted quite natural after figuring out that vampires and werewolves are real and that she was on her way to becoming one. She freaked out and questioned everything, which I probably would do to. I also admired her for not getting angry in some situations which she as a plus sized black women faced.

I enjoyed Kasey’s take on the mythology a lot, it was next to the diverse cast of characters one of my favorite parts of the novel.

And when I say diverse in this novel, I mean super diverse. We have our friendly neighbour hood lesbian couple, but also our vampire clan leading lesbian (with her wife, both woc) and a vampire/werewolf gay couple. And lets not forget Tier a trans boy werewolf (though as somebody whose mother tongue is german, I couldn’t help but laugh at his name. Tier means animal in german and he’s a werewolf haha, get it? :’D) + protective werewolf leader Mum Nadia.

Other stuff I enjoyed where the hints at Erin’s old life, talk about racism and racial profiling and the bullying she had to endure due to her being not thin. I also connected with her lack of Friend-Making-Ability TM.

I really liked the sisterly bond between Erin and Demaria (fun fact: their mother let Erin pick her baby sisters name while she was a child by pointing at her favorite letters. Poor Demaria but it’s so funny and sweet!) I’m super excited how their relationship will be explored more in the second book.

While the writing was not the best and I definitely think there is way for improvement I’m super excited to learn more and figure out what’s going to happen next.

I had to take off one star because of all the grammar mistakes and the occasional typo (also I had the feeling that words were missing on occasion?)

First reaction: A newly turned vampire (a black girl too) having to figure out her after-life surrounded by werewolves AND hunted by the government? Niiiice! After seeing that there would be a diverse cast of characters I was even more intrigued.

Do I recommend it: Yup. Despite its grammar mistakes, I absolutely loved the vampire and werewolf lore and the loads of diversity. It was really nice to read and I can’t wait for the second book.

*-*-*

What diverse books have you read recently?

Leave a Reply

