Reviews

Beauty Queens

Author: Libba Bray9464733

Publisher: Scholastic Inc

Publication Date: 24 May 2011

Rating:  2/5 Stars

Diversity: People of Color (black), LGBT Characters (lesbian, trans), Disabled Characters (blind)

TW: transphobia

Summary: The fifty contestants in the Miss Teen Dream Pageant thought this was going to be a fun trip to the beach, where they could parade in their state-appropriate costumes and compete in front of the cameras. But sadly, their airplane had another idea, crashing on a deserted island and leaving the survivors stranded with little food, little water. and practically no eyeliner.
What’s a beauty queen to do? Continue to practice for the talent portion of the program – or wrestle snakes to the ground? Get a perfect tan – or learn to run wild? And what should happen when the sexy pirates show up?
Welcome to the heart of non-exfoliated darkness.

Goodreads

Order here: TBD

*-*-*

Well I’m not quite sure where I stand with this book. It was definitely not what i thought it would be, and while that was nice at times, it really annoyed me at others.

I did enjoy the satire at first, but the snarky comments got boring after a couple of chapters. I get that this book is a satire, but the satire was so obvious that after a while it lost its charm. Especially the “commercial breaks” got old real fast. Some scenes however where truly funny and I got many good laughs out of this book.

I loved the diversity, which makes it even more sad that I did not absolutely enjoy the book.

And there is the most terrible thing of all: Insta Love! The Hot Pirate Guys and all the girls swoon after 0.5 seconds, UGH! Gross! I know romance is super important for most books, and all, but honestly girls you could do so much better! Plus it’s really boring to read about all those girls grow suddenly love-sick the moment a hot guy swaggers in (who also acts like a complete douche like ?? how can anybody like him?… but maybe there’s just the lesbian speaking)

While I don’t think it’s the worst book in existence, and while I know that it’s message is quite important (girls liberating themselves from the society who told them since they where kids that they had to be the most beautiful, everything else doesn’t matter? Very Good! especially considering the real life beauty pageants TV Shows in which 5 year olds are already forced to stand on a stage and compete, which is just terrible) I just… didn’t particularly enjoyed the way the plot unfolded.

I also think the book dragged the plot out for a bit too long, but the ending was nice.

I wished there had been a bit more focus on Taylor, her descent into the Wild Girl would have been interesting to watch, but it had to take a subplot to the Hawt Pirate guys.

All in all it was a nice read, a bit too long, and I’d probably not reread it, but it still had some super funny scenes that i really enjoyed.

Why I read it: a friend recommended it to me and I went in blind except for knowing that there was LGBT rep and that it was about a bunch of teenage girls stranded on an island.

Do I recommend it: If you enjoy to read Satire and have the time, yes. If Satire and Social Critic are not your thing, then no. While it was funny at times, it definitely is not one of my Top Ten Funny Books and as I just read The Diviners I was probably expecting something… a little different?

Leave a Reply

