Reviews

Shoot around

EC9E91ED9288EC8381EC84B8_pc_img

Author: Suspu

Publisher: Webtoons

Rating:  4.5/5 Stars

Diversity: People of Color, LGBT  Characters, Disabled Characters

Summary: When a zombie apocalypse hits during the practice of a high school basketball team, it’s a whole new life for the coach, Jeff. The world’s turned upside down and the girls seem to be handling the changes way better than Jeff, who has troubles adjusting. A close-knit group of friends, the girls are eager to tackle this new world with its challenges!

Goodreads

Read here

Support the Author if you can/want

*-*-*

A bunch of teen girls in the middle of a zombie apocalypse. Sounds like fun? It is! (for the reader at least :D). Their journey to safety is filled with drama, blood, betrayal, new experiences and of course zombie killing.

This web comic pulled me in from strip one and I love the dynamic in the main team. It was nice to get to know all the characters slowly and I loved that we got an insight in all the characters . I love the main team of girls (aka my children, who i will cherish and protect <3) the most, but there are also many amazing side characters that it definitely isn’t easy to pick favorites (well I do love Kayla the most i think (black butch lesbian, queen of my heart, could definitely lift me bc she’s incredibly strong? uh yes please I’m in love!), but i love the other characters nearly as much) especially in the second book.

I love how diverse this web comic is, there are many black and asian girls and boys, there are (polyamorous) sapphic girls, there are gay guys, there is a fat girl, there is a trans girl, there are kick ass girls who will fist fight zombies that threaten their friends, there are girls who cry and are terrified by the new situation.

The website used makes it easy to navigate and the art style is adorable! It’s seriously so nice to read and the main characters felt very real to me.

I also enjoy Suspu’s jokes a lot and I was glad at the happy moments the girls got (even though I was always weary of a new catastrophe)

I also liked that you could tell that these girls are teenagers. Some of them acted more grown up than others, while others were definitely younger and also truly behaved that way (hey there’s zombies, but we have a bit of free time so ugh gossip about the maybe romance in your after-apocalypse life? Nice!).

At points the portrayal of them felt a bit stereotypical (lets break in the mall and steal make up and clothes but uh what is actual food? pls girls you need to take better care of yourself or you will starve!) and sometimes a character acted stupid in a way that felt forced (yes chocolate is good, no breaking glass when there are zombies around is a really stupid thing unless you want to get eaten! But at least they learned quickly not to do that kind of stuff.). The only thing that really bothered was the lack of explanation of how the Zombie apocalypse happened  but as the comic is still on going that might still happen! I would have also like to know where they are (Is the story set in the real world or in fantasy world? How are the cities called? Where are they???) but other than that I really enjoyed the story!

Why I read it:teenage girls fighting in the zombie apocalypse featuring a lot of diversity? Yes please!

Do I recommend it: Yes! Despite the questions I have left (and they might yet be answered, after all the webcomic is still ongoing), you get to love most of the characters and all of them are wonderfully fleshed out (there’s also a lot of gay stuff <3). If you want a diverse web comic with kick ass girls and zombies: this is the perfect place to look!

*-*-*

Well, my first review is done! If you have any tips or want to help me improve please tell me, I’d really appreciate your help. Also have you read this web comic already? Do you plan to? If yes, please tell me if you liked it as well and who your favorite characters are.

Leave a Reply

